Mercer Law School's 2nd Annual Moot Court Competition Results

Mercer Law School held the second annual moot court competition in legal ethics and professionalism on Oct. 20-22, and University of Georgia was crowned the 2011 winner, defeating Florida Coastal in the final round. Other awards given included best oralists from the final round, Miguel Trujillo, University of Georgia; best oralists from the preliminary rounds, Drew Parrish-Bennett, Florida Coastal; best respondent brief, St. John's University; and best petitioner brief, Faulkner University.

“Issues involving lawyers and their conduct have become increasingly important in the nation’s courts, including the United States Supreme Court,” said Tim Floyd, Mercer professor of law who helped organize the competition. “A law student moot court competition is an excellent vehicle for law students to explore the ethical dimensions of lawyering. And given the strength of our academic programs in legal writing and in legal ethics and professionalism, as well as our national prominence and successes in moot court competition, Mercer is a natural and fitting home for this competition.”

Mercer Law School has the nation’s top legal writing program and receives national recognition for its programs in moot court advocacy, and legal ethics and professionalism.

The competition was compromised of 22 teams from 17 Law Schools from around the nation. Mercer Law School did not compete because it was hosting the event. Among the participating Law schools were Barry University (Orlando, Fla.), Elon University (Elon, N.C.), Emory University, Faulkner University (Mobile, Ala.), Florida Coastal (Jacksonville, Fla.), Georgia State University, John Marshall University, University of the Pacific (Sacramento, Calif.), Pepperdine University (Los Angeles, Calif.), Southern Methodist University (Dallas, Texas), St. John’s (Queens, N.Y.), Stetson (Gulfport, Fla.), Texas Tech University (Lubbock), Thomas M. Cooley Law School (Ann Arbor, Mich.), University of Georgia, University of Houston (Texas), and University of Mississippi (Oxford).

The final round was judged by a panel of distinguished federal and state judges including Judge James G. Carr of the United States District Court for the Northern District of Ohio, Judge Louis W. Sands of the United States District Court for the Middle District of Georgia and Judge Sara L. Doyle of the Georgia Court of Appeals. Gary Simson, dean and Macon Chair in Law, and Daisy Floyd, former dean and University Professor of Law and Ethical Formation, also served as judges in the final round.